How to delete files permanently in Windows 10 Whithout using Shift+Delete?

When you delete a file or folder in Microsoft Windows, it goes to a special folder called Recycle Bin. Recycle Bin allows you to restore your deleted files, in case, you change your mind at a later stage. The file continues to stay there along with other deleted files, still consuming space on your hard drive, until you clear them using the Empty Recycle Bin option.

But if you fail to clear the Recycle Bin at regular intervals, it will start taking up valuable space on your hard drive. Windows allows you delete the permanently, without sending them to Recycle Bin.

Now, one way to do this is by using the Shift+Delete key combination. But if you don’t want to keep the deleted files in the Recycle Bin, you can enable Windows to automatically delete the files permanently

This method has been tried in Windows 10.

Follow the steps below

  1. Go to the Desktop on your Windows 10 OS.
  2. Right Click the Recycle Bin folder.
  3. Click the Properties option.
  4. In the Properties, select the drive for which you want to delete the files permanently.
  5. Now, under Settings for selected location, click the radio button for Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.
    recyclebin1Note: You need to do the above steps for all individual drives for which you don’t want the files to go to the Recycle Bin. For instance, in my case I have only one drive, C. You might be having more than one.
  6. Click Apply to save the settings. Click Okto save and exit Recycle Bin properties.

You have set Windows to delete your files permanently. Keep in mind, it won’t be easy to recover these files after deleting them. So, use this feature wisely, else, you’ll end up losing something important. 😱😱😱

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s